Third Dreadnought submarine named

Posted on 07 Mar 2019 and read 1138 times
Third Dreadnought submarine namedDefence Secretary Gavin Williamson has revealed the name of the third Dreadnought submarine as HMS Warspite — a name that goes back to 1595 and has been carried by eight Royal Navy vessels, the last being the UK’s third nuclear submarine, which operated for over 20 years at the height of the Cold War.

The Defence Secretary was at Rolls-Royce’s site in Raynesway, Derbyshire, to announce the award of a £235 million contract to Rolls-Royce Submarines.

The company will provide the support, advice and material required to ensure the continued safety and availability of the nuclear-power plants on board the current fleet of Trafalgar, Vanguard and Astute class submarines until 2022. The contract will sustain around 500 UK jobs.

Mr Williamson said: “This year, we mark half a century since British nuclear-armed submarines began their continuous patrol of waters around the world. This significant milestone for the Royal Navy would not be possible without the skills and ingenuity of the industry partners who supply and maintain equipment.”

In December 2018, the Defence Secretary announced a £400 million funding boost for the Dreadnought programme, alongside a £25 million BAE Systems Academy of Skills and Knowledge in Barrow that will up-skill employees working on Royal Navy submarines.

The £31 billion Dreadnought programme replaces the four Vanguard-class submarines that have provided a ‘continuous at sea deterrent’ since 1992 with four new cutting-edge vessels.

Be seen in all the right places!

Subcon 2019 Tornitura Show MTA Vietnam 2019 EMO 2019 Advanced Engineering 2019 Metalex 2019 Machine Tool Indonesia 2019 MACH 2020